village of Kněždub (185 m above sea level) has 1100 inhabitants; It is
located among orchards, fields and vineyards at the foot of the Šumárník
Hill (398 m above sea level).
The village was probably founded by the monastery of Velehrad in 1264. It is
5 km far from the town of Strážnice and about 10 km far from the town of
Veselí nad Moravou. Dominating the village is the Pseudo-Gothic church of
St. John the Baptist from 1898. Its unusually modern interior was painted by
Vojmír Vokolek. Some picturesque buildings of folk architecture have been
safeguarded in the village.
The local regional artists – the painters Joža Úprka and Antoš Frolka as
well as Joža´s brother Franta, the sculptor, were inspired with the beauty
of local folk costumes. All the aforementioned famous natives are in peace
at the local cemetery called "Slovácký Slavín - Pantheon of Moravian-Slovakia".
Annually held events:
end of March – wine tasting
beginning of May – May country dance
end of June – St. John’s Pilgrimage
beginning of August – Vineyard closing
mid-October – Village Feast in folk costumes
WWW prezentation of